Co-writing the Future: International success stories of youth participation

Friday 3 June
09:00-10:15 CEST
Stockholmsmässan, Room 1

Organizers: Jongerenmilieuraad, Green Africa Youth Organization, International Association for the Advancement of Innovative Approaches to Global Challenges, Girls4Climate Action Uganda, Youth for Road Safety, Youth@SAIIA, Youth Climate Councils Global Alliance, Jonge Klimaatbeweging, We Are Tomorrow Global Partnership. Supported by the Dutch Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management

About: Youth participation is essential for democratic decision-making with a focus on long-term prosperity. In this event, we will highlight the experiences of young people and governmental decision-makers. The young speakers will share their experiences with participating in environmental governmental decision-making processes. The decision-makers will share what they have learned from the youth in their country and what advice they have for policy makers looking to promote youth participation in their countries. This event will highlight the voices of young people from all over the world and thereby offer a stage to those that are often unheard.

The first round (15 minutes) will be a keynote from some of our most experienced speakers. The second round (45 minutes) will be a panel discussion with youth from three different countries across the world and ministers/high level policymakers from their countries. The third round (20 minutes) will be an interactive round, during which the audience will be able to make personal or group pledges about youth participation in their specific roles or for Stockholm-post-50 in general.

Moderator(s): Joshua Amponsem (Green Africa Youth Organization), Vivianne Heijnen (Minister for the Environment of the Netherlands), Sarah Welter (Dutch Youth Environmental Council), Shivani Madarie (Dutch Youth Environmental Council), Aniek Moonen (Youth Climate Movement), Jana Elbrecht (We Are Tomorrow)


  • Beatriz Pagy (Clima de Eleição / Youth Climate Council Brazil)
  • Lucas Wosgrau Padilha (Environmental Secretary of Rio de Janeiro)
  • Pius Ddumba (Girls4Climate Action)
  • La'eeqa Martin (Youth@SAIIA)

Contact person: Sarah Isabella Welter (

Event outcomes (Key transformative actions):


Return to Programme